advent activities!

There’s no denying it: the access to information provided by the internet has a definite influence on my parenting. Between blogs and Instagram, I inundate myself daily with glimpses into other families’ lives. What other kids are wearing, eating, doing.

You could argue that this tendency of reflection is maddening and depressing.  A futile way to spend time. But, I find it to be a comforting sense of community. A village of sorts. We’re all trying to do the same general thing: create family memories as we try to raise our little ones to be our definition of “good kids.” In their matching Hanna Andersson pajamas.

A few years ago, during my online perusing, I noticed some parents doing advent activities with their kids during the holiday season. It sounded (and looked!) like a fun way to add a little excitement to each day in December. I was keen to give it a go. It took me a couple of tries to get it together, but this year I managed to organize 24 index cards on the wall with Washi tape. I’ve had to rearrange them a bit (covertly, of course) but so far it’s been a huge success. Willa’s loving it, and we are too.

DSC09925

DSC09942

DSC09948
DSC09959^^decking the halls! decorating the tree whilst eating eggnog and spinach balls. cam ate most of them.^^

DSC00001^^easy and exciting advent activity: “at home facials” ^^

DSC00022^^trip to the hammond’s candy cane festival in an amazing “merry christmas” sweatsuit i found at goodwill: not an officially sanctioned advent activity but fantastic nonetheless.^^

DSC00031^^slow morning with breakfast by the tree. three cheers for trader joe’s pain au chocolat!^^

DSC00046

DSC00057

DSC00066

DSC00089^^ice skating at skyline park and treats at the christkindl market. i had relatively high hopes for the outing, but they were still exceeded. willa LOVED ice skating. she didn’t want to stop and got much better in just the hour we were there. and the market was really fun! we enjoyed mulled wine in the beer tent with festive music. we’ll definitely go back again next year if not before!^^

2 thoughts on “advent activities!

  1. This is too cute! I’m not even a kid, but the idea of a December advent calendar sounds so fun that I might just write one for myself next year 🙂 We drove past the Christkindl Market yesterday and I just kept wonder how I didn’t know about it!

  2. Pingback: how to see santa at union station | peach melba toast

Leave a Reply

