i whine

IMAGE_2903

There’s Willa a week or so ago in a photo my Mom took. She got to go to a cool petting zoo with Nana in Fort Collins. Apparently she drove this tractor “through town.”

She’s looking a bit more disheveled this week. On Monday, she was sick. It was the very first time (well, since she was a few weeks old) that she snuggled with me and slept the day away. Yep, one whole day of a low-energy toddler. I enjoyed the bonding but, man, was she was cranky too. Although who isn’t when they’re sick?

A few days later, I was still feeling good and thought I’d managed to escape the bug (despite the intimate moment when she’d spit in my mouth after declaring the juice I gave her was “spicy”). But nope, no such luck. Late yesterday I felt a tickle in my throat and by this morning I was couldn’t-get-out-of-bed sick. The worst. I see why Willa had been forced to take a break from her usual antics.

When I get sick, I act about 5 years old. I cry and kick and scream that I can’t go to my friend’s house. Or in this case, playschool at the Botanic Gardens and a Rockies game with my parents. We’d had it planned for weeks! Willa was going to stay up late! Life’s not fair!

Good news is that Dan had a light day at work so he could be home with Willa today. Apparently she wasn’t as in to lying on the bed with me all day as I was with her. Geesh. But the bad news is my parents are heading back East in just a few days, and the game was supposed to be one of our last hurrahs. Sad face.

But anyway, enough whining. Instead I want to do one of those fun lists where I chronicle some of the little things in my life of late:

Eating :: Lots of berries. Avocado toast for breakfast most days. Summer salads.
Drinking :: A cup of half-caff coffee every morning. And a Q or Dry soda in the evenings.
Learning :: How to garden. My plants are either exploding (tomatoes) or all done (cilantro).
Wanting :: Filson tote
Reading :: Breakfast with Buddha
Wearing :: Maxi dresses.
Working :: A little bit more.
Cleaning :: Not as much as I should. How do people do it?
Trying :: To let the little things go.

Here’s to being less sick tomorrow. Hope everyone’s having a more exciting Friday!

2 thoughts on “i whine

  1. Pingback: 32nd ave farmers’ market | peach melba toast

Leave a Reply

